March 30, 2010

Yarbonel Dé Fal

Posted in Homecoming tagged , , , , at 10:49 am by E.V. Svetova

Below is an excerpt from Homecoming, Book II: Longing, which is the only mention of Yarbonel, Yaret’s illustrious sire as described by Ælfflæd, Yaret’s mother, soon to die giving birth to their child.

“I was rescued by an ælf ætheling,” Ælfflæd told with that dreamy smile. “He brought me to his house and cured me of fever. My savior and I fell in love and he wed me by the law of his people. In his glorious halls of silver and crystal I lived in bliss, and years went by like one joyous summer day. Now I carry his son under my heart. I know both my beloved and I will die so that this child may live, but such is the weave of our wyrd.”

When asked about the man who fathered her child, she answered: “Oh, my beloved is brighter than the sun. Nothing in the world is fairer to look upon. His hair is moonlight. His eyes are stars. His speech is song. His love is life itself.” And that was that.

Leave a Reply

